Dear Parents in Ministry Everywhere

I grew up with parents, grandparents, aunts/uncles who were all in ministry. Here is my best attempt at a “how to” to those who are in ministry and have kids. To many you are an inspiration, their world changers, you are who they come to for help, etc. This list could go on infinitely.

However, to one specific audience you simply have the title of mom or dad. They may not understand what you do when they’re little, or why you make the sacrifices that you do for others, but Trust me: they will.

I write this to you from the perspective of one who grew up with two rock-star parents. They give their time, and lives for others on a daily basis.

My parents aren’t the only people like this that I know. However, I’ve seen many differences between some of the children of those in ministry and my own life. I’ve always wondered what that difference was. I wondered why some people grew up loving ministry and some just didn’t. There is one large difference I’ve seen though over the years.

What I noticed is that what set these two groups of people apart was that one group was pressured into everything. For example, their parents forced them to attend and be involved in everything. As a result, their childhood included being a part of every choir or club the church had.

Well, I’m writing this as someone who wasn’t. My parents did a great job in the sense that I never saw my dad’s ministry as an obligation. Serving and helping out was always an option for me. That made all the difference as a kid/teenager. I knew where I could help if I wanted to and I knew that I could also do my own thing. As a result, I grew to want to be involved and I have been able to use my gifts and talents in a way that can help other people. Contrastingly, I saw others who were so forced into everything that having parents involved in ministry entailed that they grew to resent or reject the church entirely.

I am so thankful that has not been my story. Because of that, this summer I’ve gotten to be home in Haiti. I’ve helped with various camps, vacation Bible schools, service projects and other things. Major s/o to my awesome parents for letting me be a part of all they do. You two model sacrifice, authenticity and serving others so well. (See below a few pictures from kids camp in Haiti)

With Love, Lydia

 

IMG_6935IMG_7364

One thought on “Dear Parents in Ministry Everywhere

Leave a comment